Children Of The Corndogs

As far back as I can remember I have always loved corndogs. As I got older though I started to enjoy them less and less because the convenience stores let them sit for disgusting amounts of time and they just aren’t good when they’re not fresh. To fix that problem after eating my last stale corndog I decided to make my own. My love for corndogs has never been stronger! They are amazingly easy to make and they are a wonderful little snack that freezes great and reheats beautifully in the oven!

  • 1 1/4 cups corn meal
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 5 tbs sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups milk + 1/2 set aside
  • 1 pack of hotdogs, cutting each into 4 pieces
  • 8 cups oil for deep frying
  1. Heat oil to 325°
  2. In a large bowl mix together the corn meal, flour, sugar and baking powder together.
  3. Mix in the milk and egg and stir until thoroughly combined.
  4. This is where the milk you set aside comes in. I find the cornmeal absorbs the milk and becomes very thick as you dip. If it gets thick enough it will pull the hot dog right off the fork and then it’s a battle to get it out and still have it coated. So when I notice it’s becoming a struggle I’ll add milk 1 tbs at a time until it’s a bit looser.
  5. Begin dipping the hotdog pieces into the batter. I like using a fork because I can spin the hot dog out of the batter which helps keep am even coat all around.
  6. Using a toothpick or another fork to carefully push the hot dog off the fork into the hot oil, let it cook for 2-3 minutes flipping them over half way through to ensure even cooking through out the batter. I usually just go by the color, you want them to be a nice golden brown.
  7. Once they are cooked you will want to remove them and place them in a bowl lined with paper towel to drain the grease.
  8. Now you can eat them fresh or freeze them for snackies! A simple 15-20 minute reheat in the oven at 350° in the oven is all you need to do.

Leave a comment