Creamy Cajun Chicken & Pasta

Okay, tonight supper was great! Spicy, creamy, rich and full of flavor, I made this dish when I first started dating my main village man 4 years ago. I made it around the same time I started making Chicken Lazone, only I some how forgot about it and haven’t made it since….until today!! I was pondering what meals I should make over the next 2 weeks and I was drawing blanks. Normally the hard part of making my 2 week meal plan is deciding what dishes to axe. But perhaps if it wasn’t such a struggle today I wouldn’t have come across the memory of the first time I made this. I decided it had to happen to night and yeah, it was truly as good as we remembered. The only thing I will be changing down the road is the Cajun Seasoning…I used to have a wicked recipe and alas I cannot find it anymore…so I used Hy’s Cajun Seasoning. This will get updated when I make a batch actually worth sharing 😊

  • 1/2 cup yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/3 cup onion, chopped 
  • 1/2 cup tomato, chopped
  • 1 tbs garlic, chopped
  • 3 chicken breasts, cut into bit sized pieces
  • 2 cup coffee cream 
  • 2 tbs parmesan 
  • 2 1/2 tbs oil
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 4-5 tbs Cajun Seasoning 
  • 1 500g package linguine or fettuccine, cooked

**Note** Using a large sauce pan with a wide surface area is best for this recipe. The more narrow your pot, the deeper the cream will, be which will make the cream take longer to thicken

  1. In a medium sized bowl mix 1 1/2 tbs of oil with 1 1/2 tbs of Cajun Seasoning.
  2. Mix in the chicken breast chunks, bell pepper, onions and garlic. Mix until evenly coated.
  3. In a large sauce pan over medium heat, melt butter with oil. Add chicken and veggie mix and cook for 10 minutes, chicken should be almost cooked.
  4. Add cream and stir. 
  5. Once cream begins to simmer you will want to start stirring occasionally. 
  6. After 10 minutes the sauce should be a bit thicker, add the parmesan and then start adding cajun seasoning a tablespoon at a time, having a taste here and there (using a clean spoon because double dipping isn’t cool!) until you reached the amount of Cajun-y goodness you enjoy. Continue stirring. 
  7. The sauce will need to simmer for about 20-30 minutes. You want it to have the same consistency as an Alfredo sauce, thick enough to coat and stick to a spoon. It will get thicker as it cools. 
  8. Once your sauce is thick and flavorful you will want to add the fresh chopped tomatoes and mix.
  9. Begin adding and mixing pasta in small portions. You should have enough sauce to coat all the noodles in the pack unless you like a little more sauce add less noodles. Adding the pasta in portion allows you to ensure you don’t have more pasta then sauce. That always sucks.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

