Rusty Ruckus Rib Rub

I am so excited! I have been making other people’s Rib Rub recipes and they were good but not what we were looking for. I wasn’t 100% sure what flavor I wanted exactly but I knew chili powder as a base for the rub was not what we enjoyed. So I decided to wing it and boy am I ever happy with the results! The  rub had to compliment my Kansas City BBQ Sauce and it did exactly that!   

  • 1/4 cup paprika 
  • 2 tbs garlic powder
  • 2 tbs brown sugar, lightly packed 
  • 1 1/2 tbs onion powder
  • 1 tbs freshly cracked black pepper
  • 1 tbs hickory sea salt
  • 1/2 tbs chili powder
  • 1 tsp dry mustard 
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 – 1/2 tsp cayenne powder, depending on heat preference 
  • 1/2 tsp seasoning salt
  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender, I used the flat blade with my magic bullet because it turns it into a well blended powder but any blender blade or mortar and pestal will work as well.
  2. Store in an air tight container.
Leave a Reply

