Pizza Sauce with Pizzaz!

20160620_091613.jpg

You know what they say about assuming!

Usually it doesn’t work out very well. The worst part is having to admit it. Well for once assuming worked out in my favor and I now have a written record of it too!

The Dude and I wanted to make pizza over the weekend and we decided that as good as the sauce we’ve been using tastes it was just too thick. Some people like a really thick sauce like that but for us. We decided since we really like my marinara recipe, maybe it will make for a good pizza sauce substitution. Assuming I had everything I needed I screwed up and didn’t buy some stuff that I sort of really needed to make the Marinara, I decided to just wing it and hopefully things work out. And the did! I ended up making this beautiful pizza sauce. It had the perfect consistency and lots of flavor! I was quite pleased with myself I must say!

You will get a very large batch out of this sauce. Enough for 4 pizzas. If you do not need that much sauce you can always freeze the left overs so you don’t have to make it next time or simply half the ingredients.

  • 2 cans ( 398 ml) fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans ( 5.5 oz) tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup celery , chopped
  • 6 large garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 medium sized red thai peppers, chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 tbs dried oregano
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsp fennel seed
  • 3 lg bay leaves
  • 2 tbs oil
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 1 packet of sweetener
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

  1. In a large pot melt butter into oil. Once hot add the onion, garlic, celery, red thai peppers if you are using them, fennel seeds, oregano and basil. Cook until tender.
  2. Add diced tomatoes and tomato paste into the pot and blend with an immersion blender or if you have a stand up blender or a food processor pour everything in and blend to desired consistency.
  3. Return to pot, add bay leaves and simmer on med-low for an hour stirring occasionally. Adjust salt and pepper.
Leave a Reply

