Sponge Toffee

FB_IMG_1461686145855

Yes that’s right, sponge toffee. In my opinion the best version of toffee ever created and the best chocolate bar ever is the Crunchie bar. It used to come in a shiny gold wrapper…I don’t know if it’s changed or not. I haven’t bought one of those chocolate bars in many years, not since my BFF got me my first candy thermometer. Naturally I had to make my favorite candy and I was quite pleased when I realised just how easy it is to make! It is probably the most popular thing I make. It’s in high demand all the time and when I do give it away or send it with The Dude to work it doesn’t last long. Always a good sign 🙂

 

  • 2 & 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup corn syrup
  • 3 tsp vanilla
  • 6 tbs water
  • 2 tbs baking soda
  • oil to grease pan
  • dipping chocolate chips for dipping
  • large stock pot – **see note below**

 

  1. In a large stock pot combine the sugar, corn syrup and water.
  2. Bring to a boil then insert the candy thermometer.
  3. DO NOT STIR – Simmer until thermometer reads 300 degrees aka the “Hard Crack Stage”
  4. Remove the pot from the heat immediatly, remove the thermometer, add the vanilla and quickly whisk until combined.                                                                                 **NOTE** This step is why you will need a large stock pot. Adding baking soda will cause the toffee to foam up like crazy! if you use a pot too small you can possibly burn yourself and with candy at 300 degrees it is better to be safe.  Use a large stock pot.
  5. Quickly add the baking soda to the toffee stirring vigorously to combine all the baking soda into the candy. Immediatly dump onto the greased pan and allow to cool for a minimum of 3 hours or over night.
  6. Once cooled I have found the best way to break it up is with a butter knife. I just stab the slab of sponge toffee into pieces.
  7. Set out some parchment paper and a double broiler over the lowest heat level for melting your dipping chocolate.
  8. Once chocolate has melted using your candy tools or a fork works just as well, dip each piece into the chocolate and set on parchment paper to dry.

It is a few steps and it does take a bit of time to make but the results are 100% worth every bit of effort!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

